Hard Work Pays Off

Danial Naqvi
3 min readMay 8, 2018

--

You don’t know till you try. Hard work is difficult by definition. Slacking won’t get you anywhere. Entitlement will kill dreams. Only hard work pays off.

Me at All Bar One in Canary Wharf, London, UK

Today was Nadya’s leaving drinks.

Amongst all the bickering, my personal photographer has served me well.

She will go on to do great things. As cliche as that may sound, it’s not often I wield that term and use it.

The company will sorely miss her, and the office environment won’t be the same.

It’s been a pleasure, and I’m sure you’ll go on to annoy countless more people while living the high life in Japan.

Nadya represents hard work.

No expectations on return, just output and delivering high-quality content.

She gives international students a good name, and her character and personality flawlessly segway into today’s topic.

“If it isn’t hard, there’s no point doing it.”

Nothing in life that feels good is easy.

Relative to your experience level and knowledge, tasks may seem simplified but never easy.

I spoke yesterday about being proud of my journalism achievements.

Working consistently and diligently on one industry to produce results.

I have an interview with that journalism opportunity sometime next week, which shows the speed at which experience (blood, sweat and tears) can get you in the door.

While that prospect is still on the horizon, more and more opportunities seem closer.

These opportunities don’t come knocking by themselves.

The blood, sweat and tears. The process. The positive habits.

They all matter. Every. Single. Day.

It matters because one day someone will read your CV and shout, ‘Wow!’

Today, one of the largest data-driven marketing companies in the UK offered me an internship starting early August.

I’ve conditionally accepted before a follow-up call on Thursday.

I have no experience in this area.

I was fortunate that I met a member of the team through my first job and showed my interest.

So, what does that have to do with hard work?

The interview. That was hard work. I had to remove some critical skills from my CV and be honest for my reasons.

It was tough to put myself down in the hope that the recruiter would see potential and what I have made from what I have got.

That’s a fundamental problem in society today.

People think they need more to do something. Money. Resources.

All wrong.

It’s familiar rhetoric that you don’t need any of this, but I’ll explain briefly.

I always wanted to work hard. Earn my way. Remove this entitled flagship badge bestowed upon me from my position in society relative to the hardships that others suffer.

I work hard. I get things done. Always have and always will.

I explained that to the recruiter. He must have seen my enthusiasm.

My point here is that hard work and dedication are often forgotten when the result seems so sweet.

I spent hours working freelance to gain enough experience to be scouted to write a 10,000-word e-book — leading to more exposure and opportunities.

Hard work pays off.

--

--

Danial Naqvi

Joint PhD Candidate Business & Management at Manchester & Melbourne| MSc UCL Science, Technology and Society | BA (Hons) QMUL Human Geography |