The Great Escape

Danial Naqvi
2 min readSep 16, 2018

--

The airport run is an pastime that we all endeavour. For me, it’s a time to transcribe and people watch. The first is a necessity and the other is a habit. The great escape.

‘It’s not the time spent, but the effort made’

I don’t think I have the right to call it the great escape but my trip to Heathrow was quite the extraordinary one.

Extraordinary might be an overstep but, my enthusiasm is somewhat also an overstep.

It should’ve been a standard trip on the train and tube to Heathrow.

And, for all intensive purposes, it was. But there were some humorous as well as interesting developments along the way.

The first game on the tube to Heathrow.

Two South Asian ladies chatted on their way to their stop in Osterley.

All of a sudden, the talkative one started to raise her tone of voice. She was livid with something or other.

The woman who was receiving the lecture started to nod off.

Unknown to the former woman, the carriage started to snigger.

I found it quite hilarious.

The next was an interesting occurrence.

While waiting at Heathrow, I noticed a bunch dressed in bright blue holding up signs with a familiar crest.

It happened to be Queen Mary ambassadors who were picking up international students.

I spoke Pareen, a recent Law graduate of Indian descent and Henrietta, who has just completed her MsC in Freshwater Science ( I know I got that wrong) but it’s been a long day.

It was great to chat to them and pass the time.

I felt tired and needed to sleep.

Alas the visitor finally arrived and she managed to leave her carry on bag at the lost baggage terminal – funny that – in excitement that her bag finally turned up.

After going through the telephone exchange of Heathrow Airport, the bag was finally received.

I said a finally goodbye to Henrietta and team, and took the tube home.

The tube back was equally entertaining.

There was a baby in a stroller, the mother could’ve been three people.

One after another they got up and left.

Each woman could’ve been the mother, given facial features and appearance.

Finally one woman remained, the least entertained and staring at her phone.

A great sigh of relief when I saw her interact and give the child some milk.

People watching can often be an extreme sport so practice with caution.

That’s about all for today.

I’m tired and only just got back so I think I’ll hit the hay.

The great escape.

--

--

Danial Naqvi

Joint PhD Candidate Business & Management at Manchester & Melbourne| MSc UCL Science, Technology and Society | BA (Hons) QMUL Human Geography |